State Hearing Health Insurance Mandates

You are here

State Hearing Health Insurance Mandates

  Download This Page [PDF]

As of: January 2014
 

Arkansas (HB 1930 / Act 1179) in effect 1/2010
Covered – Does not mandate coverage of the cost of hearing aids but rather requires insurance companies to offer coverage to employers in the state. However, if the employer chooses to add this option, the health plan must provide hearing aid coverage of no less than $1,400 per ear every three years for individuals of all ages.

Limit - $1,400 per aid, every 3 years
Citation: Arkansas Code Ann. §23-79-1401

Colorado (CO SB 057) in effect 1/2009
Covered – Children under 18

Limit – 1 hearing aid per ear every 5 years, no limit on cost but deductibles and co-pays may apply
Citation: Colorado Rev. Stat. §10-16-104
Read about the law: http://www.state.co.us/gov_dir/leg_dir/olls/sl2008a/sl_401.pdf

Connecticut (SB 136) in effect 10/2001
Covered – Children under 12

Limit – $1,000 total, every 24 months
Citation: Connecticut Gen. Statute §38a-490b and §38a-516b

Delaware (DE HB 355) in effect 1/2009
Covered – Children under 18

Limit – $1,000 per aid, 1 hearing aid per ear every 36 months
Citation: Delaware Code Ann. tit. 18 §3357

Kentucky (KRS 304.17A-132) in effect 2002
Covered – Children under 18

Limit – $1,400 per aid, every 36 months
Citation: Kentucky Rev. Stat. Ann. §304.17A-132 [PDF]

Louisiana (La R.S. 22:215.25) in effect 1/2004
Covered – Children under 18

Limit – $1,400 per aid, every 36 months
Citation: Louisiana Rev. Stat. Ann. §22:1038

Maine (ME LD 1514) in effect 1/2008, 1/2009, 1/2010
Covered – Children 5 and under took effect Jan. 1, 2008, children 6-13 takes effect Jan. 1, 2009, children 14-18 takes effect Jan. 1, 2010

Limit – $1,400 per aid, every 36 months
Citation: Maine Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 24-A §33-2762

Maryland (HB 160) in effect 2002
Covered – Children under 18

Limit – $1,400 per aid, every 36 months
Citation: Maryland Code §15-838
Read about the law: http://www.mdinsurance.state.md.us/sa/documents/MarylandMandatedBenefits09-09rev.pdf

Massachusetts (HB 52) in effect 1/2013
Covered - Children 21 years old and younger

Limit - up to $2,000 per hearing aid every 36 months.

Minnesota (Minn. Stat. 62Q.675) in effect 8/2003
Covered – Children under 18

Limit – 1 hearing aid per ear, every 36 months, no limit on cost and no additional deductible or similar restriction
Citation: Minnesota Stat. §62Q.675

Missouri (376.1220 R.S. Mo) in effect 2004
Covered – Newborns coverage for screening, audiological assessment and hearing aid purchases

Limit – Coverage amount varies per need of newborn
Citation: Missouri Rev. Stat. §376.1220

New Hampshire (HB 561) in effect 1/2011
Covered – No age restrictions

Limit$1,500 per hearing aid, per ear, once every 60 months
Citation: New Hampshire Rev. Stat. Ann. §415-6p and §415:18-u

New Jersey (S. 467 / A. 1571) in effect 4/2009
Covered – Children 15 years old and younger

Limit – Coverage for $1,000 per aid, once every 2 years
Citation: New Jersey Stat. Ann. §17:48-6gg; §17:48A-7dd; §17:48E-35.31; §17B:26-2.1aa; §17B:27-46.1gg; §17B:27A-7.14; §17B:27a-19.18; §26:2J-4.32; §52:14-17.29n; §30:4J-12.2

New Mexico (SB 529) in effect 7/2007
Covered – Children under 18, or those under 21 if still enrolled in high school

Limit – $2,200 per ear, once every 36 months
Citation: New Mexico Stat. Ann.§13-7-10; §59A-22-34.5; §59A-23-7.8; §59A-46-38.5; §59A-47-37.1

North Carolina (HB 589) in effect 1/2011
Covered – Children under the age of 22

Limit – $2,500 per hearing aid, per ear, once every 36 months
Citation: North Carolina Gen. Stat. §58-3-285 [PDF]

Oklahoma (36 Okl. St. 6060.7) in effect 11/2002
Covered – Children under 18

Limit – None for hearing aid cost, once every 48 months
Citation: Oklahoma Stat. tit. 36 §6060.7 [RTF]

Oregon (HB 2589 / Chapter 553 - 2009 Laws) in effect 1/2010
Covered – Children under 18, dependents

Limit – $4,000 per aid, once every 48 months
Citation: Oregon Rev. Stat. §743A.141

Rhode Island (R.I. Gen. Stat. 27-19-51) in effect 1/2002
Covered – All ages

Limit – Increased in 2006 from $400 to $2,000, per hearing aid for those under 19. For all others, increased from $400 to $800, per hearing aid – once every three years for both groups
Citation: Rhode Island Gen. Laws §27-18-60

Tennessee
Covered – Children under 18

Limit - $1000 per hearing aid per ear every 3 years
Citation: Tennessee Code Ann. §56-7-2368
Read about the law: http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/107/pub/pc0199.pdf

Wisconsin (SB 27 / 2009 Wisconsin Act 17) in effect 1/2010
Covered – Children under 18 (Hearing aids and cochlear implants)

Limit – None, covers the cost of one hearing aid per ear (once every 3 years), cochlear implants, and related therapy
Citation: Wisconsin Stat. §609.86; §632.895 (16)