ACTION ALERT: Support the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities!

You are here

ACTION ALERT: Support the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities!

Tue, 07/17/2012

Urgent: Calls Needed NOW to Support the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

Last week's warm reception in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee was good for people with disabilities but it provoked a storm of calls from the opposition led by the Homeschool Legal Defense Association and Rick Santorum. We need to raise our voices in determined response!

HLAA supports ratification of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.
Let your Senator know where you stand!

MESSAGE: 

  • Identify yourself and your connection to disability (person with a disability, parent of a child with a disability, family member, etc.)
  • Tell your Senator:  “I support ratification of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and as your constituent I request that you support the CRPD at the Committee meeting on July 19, vote in favor of the treaty in Committee, and move it forward to a floor vote in the Senate!”
  • If you prefer to use email, send an email that includes your full name, address, and phone and/or email address.

CONTACT:

The following is a list of Senators on the Foreign Relations Committee. Please contact your Senator today. If your Senator does not sit on the Committee, call or email the Chairman, Senator John Kerry and Ranking Member Senator Frank Lugar.

Thank you!

Chairman: Senator John Kerry (D-MA)
(202) 224-4651
Chief counsel: Andrew Keller  
andrew_keller@foreign.senate.gov  OR  www.kerry.senate.gov/contact/

Ranking Member: Senator Richard Lugar (R-IN)
(202) 224-6797
Chief counsel: Michael Mattler  
michael_mattler@foreign.senate.gov
  OR  www.lugar.senate.gov/contact/

Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!!
(202) 224-6441
Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Amber Bland
amber_bland@barrasso.senate.gov
  
OR  
http://www.barrasso.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?FuseAction=ContactUs.ContactForm

Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
(202) 224-3553
Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Ann Norris 
ann_norris@boxer.senate.gov  OR  www.boxer.senate.gov/en/contact/

Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD)
(202) 224-4524
Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Katharine Beamer
katharine_beamer@cardin.senate.gov 
 OR  www.cardin.senate.gov/contact/

Senator Bob Casey, Jr. (D-PA)
( 202) 224-6324
Foreign LA: Damian Murphy
damian_murphy@casey.senate.gov
  OR  www.casey.senate.gov/contact/

Senator Chris Coons (D-DE) COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!!
(202) 224-5042
Foreign LA: Halie Soifer
halie_soifer@coons.senate.gov  OR  www.coons.senate.gov/contact/

Senator Bob Corker (R-TN)
(202) 224-3344
Foreign LA: Stacie Oliver
stacie_oliver@corker.senate.gov
 OR   www.corker.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=ContactMe

Senator Jim DeMint (R-SC)
(202) 224-6121
Foreign LA: Lydia Morgan
lydia_morgan@demint.senate.gov  OR  www.demint.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=ContactInformation

Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!!
(202) 224-2152
Foreign LA: Chris Homan
chris_homan@durbin.senate.gov
 OR   www.durbin.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
(202) 224-4721
Foreign LA: Joel Starr
joel_starr@inhofe.senate.gov 
 OR   http://www.inhofe.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?FuseAction=Contact.ContactForm

Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
(202) 224-3643
Foreign LA: Chris Sullivan
chris_sullivan@isakson.senate.gov 
 OR  www.isakson.senate.gov/contact.cfm  
 

Senator Mike Lee (R-UT)
(202) 224-5444
Foreign LA: Miriam Harmer
miriam_harmer@lee.senate.gov 
 OR   www.lee.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ)
(202) 224-4744
Foreign LA: Jodi Herman
jodi_herman@menendez.senate.gov
 OR   menendez.senate.gov/contact/

Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL)
(202) 224-3041
Foreign LA: Victor Cervino
victor_cervino@rubio.senate.gov 
 OR   www.rubio.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

Senator Jim Risch (R-ID)
(202) 224-2752
Foreign LA: Chris Socha
chris_socha@risch.senate.gov

  OR   www.risch.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=Email

Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
(202) 224-2841
Foreign LA: Chad Kreikmeier
chad_kreikemeier@shaheen.senate.gov  
OR  www.shaheen.senate.gov/contact/

Senator Tom Udall (D-NM) COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!!
(202) 224-6621
Foreign LA: Matt Padilla
matthew_padilla@tomudall.senate.gov 
 OR   www.tomudall.senate.gov/?p=contact

Senator Jim Webb (D-VA)
(202) 224-4024
Foreign LA: Marta Ross 
marta_mclellanross@webb.senate.gov 
 OR   www.webb.senate.gov/contact.cfm